Saving our $1 coins

Since so long ago that I can’t even remember, I started a habit of saving my coins in those coin-saver piggy banks. Of course, mine is not a shape of a pig, rather it is a traditional red mailbox. Now, how did this habit start?

It was around the time when I got my first wallet. As many of us know, if there are coins in the wallet, it makes the entire wallet big and bulky, not to mention heavy too. So what I did was, at the end of each day, I would empty my wallet of coins and just left them lying on my study table. Before long, my study table was overwhelmed by coins. That was when I decided to bring out one of my unused piggy banks and started depositing all these coins into it.

Some time down the road, I found it quite satisfying to hear ‘clinggg’ of new coins falling upon the old ones already in the piggy mailbox. However, I also began to thirst for more! I wanted to grow my piggy mailbox quicker so that I can open it up and start counting my coins like Scourge Mcduck. So I made a new personal policy, that all coins will not be spent but will be deposited once it entered my wallet. This really made a lot of difference as my piggy mailbox grew by leaps and bounds. But my spending power took a big hit. Imagine, I paid for a $0.30 packet of titbits using a $2 note and received $1.70 worth of coins in return. Following my strict policy, I had to save all the $1.70 worth of coins, meaning I had very much less pocket money to spend. :(

Soon, my piggy mailbox was full and it was time to count the fruits of my labour. I remember sorting out the coins by type first, the 1c, 5c, 10c, 20c, 50c and 100c (aka $1 gold coin). I vaguely recall that the 10c and 20c were the greatest in numbers but they were worth very little in total value. Instead, the $1 coins contributed to the majority of the value of my first full piggy mailbox despite it being the least in numbers. (Okok, the 5c coins were the *least* in numbers, the $1 coins were 2nd last. :P)

From there on, I made a change in policy. Only $1 coins will not be spent and must be deposited; all other coins can be spent. This is because $1 coins are the highest valued coins in Singapore and hence a pure $1 saving piggy mailbox will yield the highest value per volume.

That was years ago. I’ve since emptied my piggy mailbox of my pure $1 savings several times and easily recovered around $500 each time. It really makes me feel like Scourge Mcduck counting my stacks and stacks of gold coins (Singapore $1 coins are indeed gold in colour).

Some time along the way, I managed to influence Dear2 into subscribing to my $1 coin policy, and she did. But Dear2 plays cheat sometimes as she would occasionally throw in some 50c coins in order to make her piggy UFO grow faster so that she can empty it earlier. And because Dear2’s piggy UFO is transparent, I can often spot the odd silver colour 50c coins within and ‘punish’ Dear2 for violating the rules. Gee… Under my close supervision, Dear2 has turned over a new leaf and plays by the rules now. Gee…

Since moving in together, we have joined our efforts in saving $1 coins into my piggy mailbox. With our combined contribution, the piggy mailbox is growing faster than ever. It is really music to our ears to hear the silence of the falling coin getting shorter and shorter. It means that our coin-level is getting higher and higher. :D

Besides counting coins and satisfying our coin-music ego, the $1 coins came in useful for one other occasion, our wedding. We selected the brightest and shiniest of our gold coins and packed them into a hefty $88 Gold Angbao for our wedding. So auspicious, $88 (fa-fa), gold colour, bright and shiny. Yeah…

We’re not young children anymore, so you may ask, why are we still putting money to a piggy bank? Well, it’s a matter of discipline and character. Saving these coins is not about its monetary value. It is about cultivating a discipline lifestyle, teaching us perseverance and training ourselves to be responsible adults. The small gesture of our daily coin drop may well be a building block for us to face larger problems in life.

-Dear1

4 thoughts on “Saving our $1 coins

  1. I’ve a friend who is imparting the virtue of savings into his children via something similar also. He changed at the bank Thousands of paper cash into $1 coins. When his children do well at school etc, he will pass them some $1 coin for their pigg-banks.

    Btw, my friend (who is a funds-manager) shared with me that there is an acute and growing shortage of coinage in Singapore as the mint is not making any new ones due to the high raw-metals material costs. The inputs costs are now higher than the face value of the coins.

    He stated that in a few years time there will be an explosive rise in the “real” value of the $1 coins due to the said shortage. Good news for diligent savers.

    • Hi Lee,

      Sorry that your comment got filtered out by the automatic spam-filter. I’ve restored it! :D

      Your friend’s method of nurturing his children sound like a great idea. Maybe we can start a similar plan for our baby next time too. :D

      -Dear1

  2. Pingback: Baby1′s Savings Plan « Dear1 Dear2

  3. Pingback: Saving Every $ part 3 | Dear1 Dear2

Leave a Reply

