5 Languages of Love

Rewatched <<再见单人床>> on Channel 8 recently and was quite impressed with this concept on 5 languages of love.  Couples, be it newly dating, or ‘old’ couples like Dear1 and Dear2, we should understand and apply this concept to improve the romance/love factor.  They say love is like a bank account, frequent withdrawals will cause the love to deplete, so we need to top it up every now and then with these 5 languages of love.

Gifts

Some people need gifts to make them feel good.  Picture the husband returning home with a piece of jewellery for the wife and she’s happy as a lark for the rest of the day.  Okay, maybe you can’t keep buying gems only, maybe a bunch of fresh flowers will do the trick too, but that’s the idea.  Don’t work for Dear2 though.

Quality Time

Thomas Ong in <<Pillow Talk>> says he needs quality time from the wife, ie just some time to go swimming together and he feels that he has all her attention.  If I have the time, I’d rather use it to do the things that I need to do, ie all the household chores, else there’s no better chance for me to do all these when the kids are in.

Physical Touch

Hmm… Something which is lacking between Dear1 and Dear2 nowadays with 2 kids in, but I think to me, this is still not quite the one.

Words of Affirmation

I think Dear1 is definitely belonging to this category.  He needs my constant praise to feel good.  (mental note to self)  Dear1, am I correct?

Acts of Service

*Drum rolls* I think this is the one that I need most.  With the never-ending chores to do, big or small, routine or mundane, I can do with more help from Dear1.  And when my list-of-things-to-do is shorter, I have more of myself to devote to Dear1.

So, what is the love language that refuels your love tank?

– Dear2

One thought on “5 Languages of Love

Leave a Reply

