Zootopia Try Everything

When Zootopia was released, I’d thought that was just another entertaining animation.  There are so many movie animations for kids these days, and one more seemed another senseless one.  But after we watched it, hey, it seemed to be pretty meaningful – small little bunny who aspired to do BIG things, and eventually succeeded.  Simple idea but presented in a zoo-zoo way, nice!

And recently when Baby1 came home with the lyrics for her year-end concert, WOW, the lyrics for <Try Everything> seemed very meaningful!

I messed up tonight, I lost another fight
I still mess up but I’ll just start again
I keep falling down, I keep on hitting the ground
I always get up now to see what’s next

Birds don’t just fly, they fall down and get up
Nobody learns without getting it wrong

I won’t give up, no I won’t give in
‘Til I reach the end and then I’ll start again
No I won’t leave, I wanna try everything
I wanna try even though I could fail
I won’t give up, no I won’t give in
‘Til I reach the end and then I’ll start again
No, I won’t leave, I wanna try everything
I wanna try even though I could fail

Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Try everything
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Try everything
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Try everything
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

Look how far you’ve come, you filled your heart with love
Baby you’ve done enough, take a deep breath
Don’t beat yourself up, don’t need to run so fast
Sometimes we come last, but we did our best

I won’t give up, no I won’t give in
‘Til I reach the end and then I’ll start again
No I won’t leave, I wanna try everything
I wanna try even though I could fail
I won’t give up, no I won’t give in
‘Til I reach the end and then I’ll start again
No I won’t leave, I wanna try everything
I wanna try even though I could fail

I’ll keep on making those new mistakes
I’ll keep on making them every day
Those new mistakes

Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Try everything
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Try everything
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Try everything
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

Try everything

These lyrics tugged at my heart strings, especially when they will be sang by the K2 kids who will be ‘graduating’ from the childcare centre at the end of the year, moving on to Primary School next year.  For a 6-year old who has been in a childcare facility for the past 4 years, she may not fully comprehend the scale of what ‘Primary School’ means, but for us parents, we all know very well that this will be the beginning of formal education, of chasing that academic results, of coming to the society, of really encountering peer pressure.

As parents, what kind of parents are we, and what kind of parents do we want ourselves to be? There are soooooooo many parenting resources and articles and hearsay nowadays.  During our parents times, parenting advice mostly came from their Da Gu’s Third Aunt, or from San Jie handling her own 4 children, or from the next-door neighbor, or from the aunties at the vegetable stall.  If you had a “how far away is the sun from earth” question, your dad will probably ask you to “go library and find the answer”, or “ask your teacher”.  Today, we’ll just quickly google the answer, or for the indirect questions, pose it on social media to seek mass help. Apart from these help that we actively seek, there are lots of content explosion which some inevitably lands into our line of sight too.  The will and wisdom of the modern parent needs to be so much stronger now!

Try everything. Of course we won’t be asking Baby1 to try everything.  Why try drugs, smoking, gambling, alcohol, promiscuous sex, if we’ve already know that these are wrong. For other things, we’ve been through the education system, so we know that you’ve-better-study-hard-to-have-a-good-life, and we know that you-need-to-do-this-to-achieve-that.  Sounds right?

When Joseph Schooling won the first Olympic Gold for Singapore, everyone was surprised. No Singaporean had achieved such big goals before, so I’m pretty sure Joseph’s parents did not have a prior glamorous Olympics record themselves. But try did Joseph, and win did he.

As parents, we are continually learning, and continually applying. We just want the best for our children, (albeit the definition of ‘best’ defers from person to person), and we just want our children to grow up well.

I am very nervous about Primary One, because that’s a whole wide world out there.  We will not be able to shelter Baby1 24/7, and she will need to learn independence and navigate herself among the masses.  Apart from courageously try everything and not be afraid to fall (like in the lyrics), we also want to instill in her, knowing what is right and wrong, and to always do the right thing, and learn when to say ‘No’.

For the ‘graduating’ K2s, take heart! Birds don’t just fly, they fall down and get up.  Arm yourself with lots of courage and prepare to embrace the world!  Mummies and daddies will always be behind you!

– Dear2

 

Leave a Reply

