Our Girls~~

On the last day of Term 2, it seemed that all the parents are somewhere attending their children’s Parents-Teachers Meetings.  Dear1 and I attended Baby1 and Baby2’s PTMs too, and I can only say, both our girls are so good~~

Dear1 and I know that Baby1 and Baby2 are both good girls.  They listen to what we tell them, they obey our instructions, albeit frequently making our blood boil.  I sometimes have to remind myself and Dear1 that they are both still kids.  Just 7 years old and 5 years old, how did Dear1 and I behaved when we were that age!?  So when it comes to Parents-Teachers meetings, after the first meeting in their new childcare centre, Dear1 and I decided that it was okay to skip the subsequent ones, cos we know that Baby1 and Baby2 were doing very okay in school.

For Baby2’s Parent-Teacher meeting this year, both her Chinese and English teachers were full of praises for her.  Observant, serious in learning, nice handwriting, independent, quietly does her work, can do most of the work on her own.  She is surely the best student in her Kindergarten One class of 14 kids.  Dear1 and I came out of the room beaming as very proud parents.

For Baby1, on the last school day of Term 2, she:

  1.  was announced to be the Class Monitress
  2. topped the class with the highest score (again) in Term 2, and
  3. came home with a Report Book of all Grade 1s and As (except for PE, B) for her SA1

OMG.  This is the child who makes my blood boil at least 3 times a day (during breakfast, lunch and dinner for eating so slow!), and this is the child who I frequently scold for always being so playful and easily distracted.

On the last day of Term 2, we also counted the money that Baby1 has saved in this half year.  $40.10!  Considering that Baby1’s pocket money is $1.30 per recess, and she spends $1 on a meal, Baby1 has not been spending her money on any unnecessary things at all. Wow.

Actually, Baby1 is really a good girl too.  From the Parents-Teachers meeting, both her Form Teacher and Chinese Teacher were full of praises for her too.  She does her work independently and seriously, and she’s careful in her work.  Basically, both teachers have nothing much to worry about her.

Why do children always seem to behave so differently in school and at home!?  At home, I seem to be constantly nagging at her, “be quick”, “do your work seriously”, “keep the toys”, “why is this thing here?”, or at Baby2 “drink water”, “one quarter”.  I constantly feel like I am on REPEAT REPEAT REPEAT mode.  But in school, both Baby1 and Baby2 are such darlings!

Love Them. Understand Them.  Forgive Them.  Grow with Them.

After reading “Search Inside Yourself”, I have the above new mantra.

I do not want myself to be a kiasu parent, and I do not want myself to be a Tiger Mum.  We want Baby1 and Baby2 to grow up in a loving and happy family.  And we need to remind ourselves that both our girls are so lovely and lovable, so “Love them, understand them, forgive them, and grow with them.”

I love you, Baby1 and Baby2.

And I love you, Dear1.  Muck!

– Dear2

One thought on “Our Girls~~

  1. Pingback: Grit | Dear1 Dear2

Leave a Reply

